The Humiliation of Black Women Through Reality Tv: Basketball Wives

I’m going to discuss how the show Basketball Wives is showcasing black women in such a negative light. More positivity is necessary for this show
I’m going to discuss how the show Basketball Wives is showcasing black women in such a negative light. More positivity is necessary for this show

Hey Queens !

So let me start off by saying, PATHETIC! I am so disappointed in the direction this season has gone so far. Through the constant petty fights and arguments, to the bashing of other women, where has the substance gone? For women who are supposed to serve as a platform representing black women, it truly disgusts me to have this type of show representing the black culture.

Instead of speaking on their business ventures and ideas or taking fun trips that showcase the fun times that women can have together, this show is just highlighting issues that high schooler go through and I’m over it.

The only people that I like this season are Tami, Jackie, O.G. and Cece. I’m going to briefly pinpoint the reasons why I like these women:

Tami: She has her days where she can be a little petty, but she always keeps it real and stands her ground. I’m also happy that she’s starting a new chapter in her life and she’s preparing to get married and live happily with a man that she loves.

Jackie: Now I know most people don’t like Jackie because she’s eccentric. However, I’m very proud that she’s going to counseling this season and dealing with her personal issues. She has also been staying out of the drama lately. Not only that, I admire how open and free she is and although everyone may not like that about her, I feel that the world needs people like her.

O.G.: She is very sweet, but if you come for her she will come for you. I feel that this group of women typically attacks the newbies, but O.G. Isn’t having it and I love that about her.

Cece: She is such a sweet woman, and I can tell she genuinely wanted to have positive friendships with these ladies, but from the beginning, some women were attacking her character and being childish. I respect her for knowing how to walk away and knowing what is beneath her.

Now onto all of the ladies that I don’t too much care for and why:

Evelyn: I have no respect for this woman. She’s rude, she throws shade, she can’t give a complement, she thinks she’s better than everyone, she always try’s to play the victim, and all she does is talk about the other cast members, aside from Shaunie. This woman is the type to pinpoint why everyone else is wrong in a situation and not be able to own up to her mistakes. She also plays this “mean girl” and it really isn’t a good look in my eyes. Some of you may know that she starred on Iyanla Vanzant “Fix My Life” and I assumed that this would help her become a better woman. However, it just seems like when she’s around this group of women, she just becomes a very hateful person that I just can’t stand or respect.

Shaunie: I used to love Shaunie, until I witnessed how much she jumps on the “Evelyn Lozada” bandwagon. It just seems like in her eyes, Evelyn does no wrong and it’s really sad. She also has mean girl tendencies, so for those reasons I’m just not much of a fan of hers anymore.

Malaysia & Kristen: I pretty much don’t like them for the same reasons. They all of a sudden want to jump on the Evelyn bandwagon as well. They seem to want to fit in with these ladies so bad that they would turn against Cece, who’s supposed to be like their family. I have no respect for these two because they’ve let her get attacked by these women on many occasions and for them to continuously blame Cece, or try to get Cece to stoop to their level, I don’t respect it.

Jen: I don’t respect Jen, simply because she has let Evelyn take her down to the lowest level she could possibly go and befriended her AGAIN. Not only that, she has been the center of so much drama this season, she has been Evelyn’s minion, and she doesn’t have a voice until Evelyn is around. I respect her for admitting to her starting the rumor about Evelyn sleeping with Shaunie’s ex. However, she went to great lengths to hurt this woman because of how she made you feel about yourself and you allowed yourself to become friends with her again . I’m not saying that we all don’t make these types of mistakes, but for these women to be in their 40s I just can’t respect it.

At the ages that these women are, they should be elevating and trying to do better rather than partake in so much drama. They are some of the only representation that black women have on television and I feel that they are wasting this platform. Of course it wouldn’t be good reality tv without a little bit of pettiness, but the amount of irrelevant mess that this show has broadcasted is seriously sad and ridiculous.

This show should definitely do a better job of representing black women and should focus on the great things that black women are doing with their lives, from their businesses to the way they take care of their families. I’m sad to say that I’m over this show and unless more positivity is incorporated into the show, there’s a strong chance that I won’t be tuning in anymore.

If you watch Basketball Wives, please leave your comments below. Even if you don’t, leave your opinions on the topic. I would love to hear what you all think.